Home | Forums | Photo Gallery
Radio Stations

  • Old School
  • The Beat
  • Radio Free Virgin
  • 9inety6ix.1
  • 2DayFM
  • Triple M
  • sydlogo_02.gif
  • Triple J
  • Wild FM

  • Forums

    Discuss the Album Reviews and more by visiting the Metroside Forums Here

    Album Review

  • Tashawn King - Self Titled

    • Track Listing

      1. 3's Company
      2. Strung out
      3. He dont love you
      4. Make it official
      5. Anything you want
      6. On parole
      7. Party
      8. Crazy
      9. Promise me
      10. Missing you
      11. Come
      12. Slow down

      No rookie to the music industry, Tashawn is the former lead singer of the male group "Homework" launched from Boston in the post "New Kids on the Block" and "Marky Mark" days by former "New Edition" manager Maurice Starr. His tenure in the group afforded him the opportunity to learn the meaning of teamwork; being signed to a major label, development and touring.

      After taking time out for self and concentrating on strengthening his skills as a songwriter and arranger, Tashawn is on a serious quest to secure his spot by walking in the solo path of his musical influences, Marvin Gaye, Stevie Wonder and Teddy Pendergrass. Just as they've done, he uses a genuine love and appreciation for merging voice with melody to present his own individual style of smooth, urban contemporary, old and new school R&B.

      His "Xecution Records" release is a collection of 12 well-explained tracks that bring you into his world while covering the spectrum of love, life and relationships, displaying him as a complete artist, ready to take his place among R&Bs elite.

      "3's Company" his smash lead single is a smooth but intense track reflective of its title as it depicts him in the company of not 1 but 2 ladies.

      "Anything You Want" the no-holds barred verbal promissory and the radio friendly

      "Missing You" featuring the fresh voice of label mate 'Lola' are fast approaching chart status.

      "Strung Out" is an honest testament of his feelings after the end of a long relationship.

      "He Don't Love You" is a broken heart repair kit for women everywhere.

      "Party" a smoothed out club track that adds a nice vibe to party.

      As a talented songwriter and vocal arranger, Tashawn would be pleased with the results of his collaborative efforts with producers X-Men ("3's Company", "Make You Come), Formula One, ("Promise," "Party," "Slow Down") Gordon Worthy provided the crisp ("He Don't Love You") Kenny Mabine, ("Make It Official") and Idris Abdurraheem, ("Crazy"). Having written and arranged 10 out of 12 songs on the album, he looks forward to resuming those duties on his next release. And after recently opening up for platinum selling artist Jaheim and Jagged Edge, Tashawn is ready to move onto the next phase of his career "headstrong." Which will be his first solo effort in the near future!

      Review by Snoops>>(excerpts by CD baby)


  • Sanity
  • Chaos Music
  • CD NOW
  • Sydney Opera House
  • Conservatorium of Music
  • The Australian Ensemble
  • Australian Music
  • MTV
  • Timeoff
  • The Grammy Awards
  • Ticketek
  • Hip Hop Online